THE CLASS OF 2024

Jennora Blair '24 Storytelling/Narrative Studies, AB

Sierra Bornheim '24 ‡ *Human Evolution, AB*

Zoë Fuad '23.5 ‡

Cyberculture and

Digital Communities, AB

Lucas Elijah Gelfond '24.5 Art and Technology, AB

Sophia Ghauri '24 Human-Centered Design of Healthcare Systems, ScB

Kaitlyn Hall '23.5 Indigenous Anarchism, AB

Pilar McDonald '24 ‡
Caregiving and Care Infrastructure
in the US, AB

Juliana Merullo '24 Food and Community, AB

Carter Moyer '24 ‡
Computational Neuroscience, ScB

Hyunjee (Erica) Nam '24 ‡ Food, Media, and Culture, AB

Margaret Nesi '24 Environmental Humanities and Policy, AB

‡ Honors in Concentration

Eliza Noxon '23.5

Interdisciplinary Artistic Studies, AB

Chinazo Onyema '24 Infectious Disease and Economic Development, AB

Daniel Eduardo Ramirez-Minaya '24 Comparative Black Economics, Politics, and Development, AB

Cecile Schreidah '24 Infectious Epidemiology, ScB

Jeffrey Jin Tao '24

Human-Computer Interaction, ScB

Cagn Walker '24.5 *Astrobiology, AB*

Benjamin Alexander Wendelstadt '24 *Philosophy, Politics, and Economics, AB*

Max Xu '24

Power, Performance, and Success, AB

Catherine Z. Yang '24 Industrial Food Systems: Entrepreneurship, Equity, and Economics, AB

THE COLLEGE & COLLEGE CURRICULUM COUNCIL INDEPENDENT CONCENTRATION SUBCOMMITTEE

Sierra P. Bornheim '24
IC Co-Coordinator

Peggy Chang '93, '13 AM Associate Dean of the College, Director of Undergraduate Studies, Independent Concentrations, Director, Curricular Resource Center

Kevin W. Ennis

PhD Candidate, Portuguese
and Brazilian Studies,

College Curriculum Council

Faith Freeman
Program Manager,
Curricular Resource Center

Emily Hipchen

Senior Lecturer in English, College Curriculum Council

Janet Isserlis '91 AM Assistant Director, Curricular Resource Center

Margaret Nesi '24 *IC DUG Leader*

Ryan Peng '25

College Curriculum Council

Alex Poterack Steven Rattner Senior Lecturer in Economics, College Curriculum Council

Myles Ringel '25 IC Co-Coordinator Cecile Schreidah '24 IC DUG Leader

Sydney Skybetter

Deputy Dean for Curriculum and Co-Curriculum.

College Curriculum Council

Hannah Stoch '26
Digital Archives and

Communications Coordinator, Curricular Resource Center

Jeffrey Tao '24 IC Co-Coordinator



This is event will be livestreamed at bit.ly/IC-DC-24

Brown University Commencement 2024



The College and The Curricular Resource Center



May 26, 2024

The Glenn and Darcy Weiner Center, Brown-RISD Hillel, 80 Brown Street

Goldfarb Family Social Hall (Ceremony) • Terrace (Reception)

All or portions of Brown University events and their participants may be captured by photography or video and used for news or Brown promotional purposes.

PROGRAM

WELCOME

Peggy Chang '93, '13 AM Associate Dean of the College; Director of Undergraduate Studies, Independent Concentrations; Director, Curricular Resource Center

WHAT IS AN INDEPENDENT CONCENTRATION?

Class of 2024

AWARDING OF DEGREES

Peggy Chang '93, '13 AM IC Faculty Advisors

Reception immediately following the ceremony

ABOUT THE INDEPENDENT CONCENTRATION PROGRAM

The Independent Concentration (IC) program is at least as old as Brown's Open Curriculum, which celebrated its 50th Anniversary during the 2019-2020 academic year.

Many standard concentrations emerged from student and faculty interest in Independent Concentrations: Brain Sciences/Neuroscience, Behavioral Decision Sciences, Contemplative Studies, Middle East Studies, Literary Arts, STS (Science, Technology, and Society), Statistics, and others. Computational Neuroscience was recently approved as a standard concentration.

Students approved for their independent concentration in their IC proposal demonstrated a coherent field of inquiry not formally offered as a standard concentration. An independent concentrator garners the support of faculty to advise them and serve as their capstone or thesis advisors.

In the senior year, independent concentrators design a capstone project or elect to pursue a thesis over two semesters for honors candidacy. The student's thesis committee and the IC Dean award Honors based on the high quality of the submission and the student's overall performance in their concentration.

The IC program would not be possible without the support of the IC faculty advisors, the IC selection committee, and the tireless and dedicated efforts of the Curricular Resource Center's IC student Co-Coordinators. The coordinators meet with scores of students, review proposal drafts, and sit on the Independent Concentrations subcommittee of the College Curriculum Council. Thank you, Jeffrey, Myles, and Sierra! Additionally, many thanks to Cecile and Meg for serving as this year's IC DUG Leaders.

IC GRADUATES' CAPSTONE AND THESIS TITLES

Jennora Blair '24

Capstone: "Dreaming the Art-Chive: Black & Indigenous Memory-Keeping through Storytelling"

Sierra Bornheim '24

Thesis: "Inferring environmental conditions at an important Lower Paleolithic site using avifauna"

Zoë Fuad '23.5

Thesis: "Organizing Against Loneliness"

Lucas Elijah Gelfond Capstone: "IBM, Olivetti, and the Informational Turn"

Sophia Ghauri '24

Capstone: "Foundation Model for Diabetic Retinopathy Detection from Retinal Images"

Pilar McDonald '24

Thesis: "The Wages for Housework Movement: An Attempt to Bring the Theory into Practice"

Juliana Merullo '24 Capstone: "Deep Water"

Carter Moyer '24

Thesis: "Predicting Alzheimer's Disease Biomarker Levels via Machine Learning Modeling of Cognitive and Social Adversity Variables"

Hyunjee (Erica) Nam '24
Thesis: "From The Art of Oriental
Cooking to Korean American:
Understanding Korean Transnational
Subjects' Cultural Identity Development
through Cookbooks and Recipes"

Margaret Nesi '24

Capstone: "Climate Storytelling for Elementary Students"

Chinazo Onyema '24 Capstone: "Water, Wellness, and Wealth"

Daniel Eduardo Ramirez-Minaya '24 Capstone: "Perspectives on Black Immigration in Paris and New York City: A Pan-African Outlook"

Cecile Schreidah '24

Capstone: "Beyond Mosquitos:

The Malaria Story"

Jeffrey Jin Tao '24

Capstone: "Overload to Order: Reimagining Tab Management

for Digital Wellbeing"

Benjamin Alexander Wendelstadt '24 Capstone: "Shadows of the Mind: Artificial Intelligence, the Human Experience and the Future of Political Order"

Max Xu '24

Capstone: "Power, Performance, and Success"

Anaerobic Digestion Facilities"

Catherine Z. Yang '24
Capstone: "Waste Not: Hybrid

INDEPENDENT CONCENTRATION FACULTY SPONSORS, THESIS COMMITTEE MEMBERS & CAPSTONE ADVISORS

Lindsay Caplan Stelios Michalopoulos Deb Mills-Scofield Kenneth Chay Ellie Choi Deak Nabers Ian Dell'Antonio Marion Orr Michael Donohue David Polatty Aisling Dugan Jonathan Readev Elena Festa Srinivas Reddy Lynn Rothschild Steven Gatesy Shanti Morell-Hart Christoph Schorl Barrett Hazeltine Robert Self William Heindel Thomas Serre Leon Hilton Holly Shaffer Elena Shih Jeff Huang

Dean Jang Helis Sikk
Pearce Keane Diane Silva Pimentel
Michael Kennedy David Skarbek
Dawn King Patricia Sobral
Magdalena Krzystolik Sharon Swartz
Nell Lake Barbara Tannenbaum

Jinying Li Michael Walker
Enongo Lumumba-Kasongo Tyler Wray
Amanda Lynch Roberto Zenit