IC GRADUATES' CAPSTONE AND THESIS TITLES

Theodore Akpinar '22.5, Capstone: "Predicting TMS Treatment Outcomes from Clinical & EEG Data"

Gemma Brand-Wolf '22.5, Thesis: "Elegies"

Jason Tristan Brown '23, Thesis: "Afrofantasia: The Journey Of Iyanu"

Aaron Jesus Castillo '23, Thesis: Who Has A Seat at the Table? Food and Displacement in Providence, Rhode Island"

Kira Kelly Clarke '23, Thesis: "A Place for Imagination: A Philosophical Exploration of the Possibility for Imagination's Mechanistic Role in the Predictive Processing Framework"

Isabel Cox '23,

Thesis: "'The System Played a Glitch on Me:'Systemic Contributors to Burnout at a Refugee Resettlement Agency in Massachusetts"

Caroline David '23, Capstone: "Using Human-Centered Design to Develop a Grabber Product for Wheelchair Users"

Zoë Fuad '23.5,

Thesis: "I was not meant to be without you who understand': Combatting Loneliness Through a Healing Justice Lens"

Reetam Ganguli'23,

Thesis: "International Multicenter Prospective Evaluation of Machine Learning Models Prognosing Maternal Transfusion Risk at the Point of Care"

Nicolás Martín Everly Gascón '23, Thesis: "(Re)membering Lost Futures: Vaporwave and the Postmodern Condition"

ABOUT THE INDEPENDENT CONCENTRATION PROGRAM

Kaitlin Goldin '23, Thesis: "Melodrama of the Unknown Woman"

Rachel Huynh '23, Capstone: "Food Parenting: How to Deal with Picky Eating for Kids with Autism"

John C. Lin '23, Thesis: "Price Transparency for Healthcare in the United States: Promises and Pitfalls"

Emily Jaquelin Leila Moini '23, Capstone: "Between Purpose and Profit: Examining The Effect of Corporate Social Responsibility Performance on Capital Access Among Publicly Traded Companies"

Alex Purdy '23, Thesis: "On Toni Morrison's Relationality and Trans Encounter"

Davi Sapiro-Gheiler '23, Capstone: "after Ooze: Self-Portraits of Embodiment"

Aïcha Farah Soukab '22.5, Capstone: "audio Atlas"

Sojas Wagle '23, Thesis: " 'People have very gendered dreams about their children': A Qualitative Description of Provider Perspectives on Gender-Affirming Care for Youth"

Lila Zimbalist'23, Capstone: "Developing a Standard Concentration: Computational Neuroscience" The Independent Concentration (IC) program is at least as old as Brown's Open Curriculum, which celebrated its 50th Anniversary during the 2019-2020 academic year.

Many standard concentrations emerged from interest as Independent Concentrations: Brain Sciences/Neuroscience; Behavioral Decision Sciences; Contemplative Studies; Middle East Studies; Literary Arts; Science, Technology, and Society; Statistics, and others.

Students approved for their independent concentration in their proposal demonstrated a coherent field of inquiry not formally offered as a standard concentration. An independent concentrator garners the support of faculty to advise them and serve as their capstone or thesis advisors.

In the senior year, independent concentrators design a capstone project or elect to pursue a thesis over two semesters for honors candidacy. The student's thesis committee and the IC Dean award Honors based on the high quality of the submission and the student's overall performance in their concentration.

The IC program would not be possible without the support of the IC faculty advisors, the IC selection committee, and the tireless and dedicated efforts of the Curricular Resource Center's IC student Co-Coordinators. The coordinators meet with scores of students, review proposal drafts, and sit on the Independent Concentrations subcommittee of the College Curriculum Council. Thank you, Aaron, Gemma, Lila, and Rachel.

Livestream Zoom link: http://bit.ly/IC-DC-23



All or portions of Brown University events and their participants may be captured by photography or video and used for news or Brown promotional purposes.

Brown University Commencement 2023



Independent Concentrations The College The Curricular Resource Center



May 28, 2023

The Glenn and Darcy Weiner Center, Brown-RISD Hillel, 80 Brown Street

Goldfarb Family Social Hall (Ceremony) • Terrace (Reception)

PROGRAM

WELCOME

Peggy Chang '93, '13 AM Director of the Curricular Resource Center, Associate Dean of the College

A MOMENT OF REMEMBRANCE

Janet M. Cooper Nelson *Chaplain of the University*

WHY AN IC?

Class of 2023

AWARDING OF DEGREES

Peggy Chang '93, '13 AM

Susan Y. Chon '91 Trustee

Reception immediately following the ceremony

THE CLASS OF 2023

Theodore Akpinar '22.5, Computational Neuroscience, Sc.B.

Gemma Brand-Wolf '22.5, Studies of Death and Dying, A.B. ‡

Jason Tristan Brown '23, Black Speculative Arts and Afrofuturism, A.B. ‡

Aaron Jesus Castillo '23, Food and Identity, A.B. ‡

Kira Kelly Clarke '23, Imagination: Cognition, Computation, and Expression, Sc.B. ‡

Isabel Cox '23, Human Rights and the Refugee Experience, A.B. ‡

Caroline David '23, Human-Centered Design, A.B.

Zoë Fuad '23.5, Cyberculture and Digital Communities, A.B.^

Reetam Ganguli '23, Cancer Engineering in Medicine, Sc.B.‡

Nicolás Martín Everly Gascón '23, Critical Theory, A.B. ‡

Kaitlin Goldin '23, Storytelling, A.B. ‡

Kaitlyn Hall '23.5, Indigenous Anarchism, A.B. Rachel Huynh '23,

Food and Health in U.S. American Society, A.B.

John C. Lin '23,

Health Systems and Policy, A.B. ‡

Emily Jaquelin Leila Moini '23, Philosophy, Politics, and Economics, A.B.

Eliza Noxon '23.5, Interdisciplinary Artistic Studies, A.B.

Alex Purdy '23, Identity, Being, and Otherness, A.B. ‡

Davi Sapiro-Gheiler '23, The Body: Aesthetic Culture, Creative Practice, and Trans Studies, A.B.

Aïcha Farah Soukab '22.5, Transnational Indigenous Memory, A.B.

Sojas Wagle '23, Psychiatric Epidemiology, Sc.B. ‡

Lila Zimbalist '23, Computational Neuroscience, Sc.B.

Students who complete their degree requirements after May Commencement officially receive their diploma the following May.

POSTHUMOUS DEGREE

Jameson M. McMullen '23, A.B. Milan Samardjiski '23, A.B.

IC FACULTY SPONSORS, THESIS COMMITTEE MEMBERS & CAPSTONE ADVISORS

Sophie Abramowitz jesús hernández Marc Redfield William Allen Alani Hicks-Bartlett Gerhard Richter Michael Berman Christopher Hill Blair Sackett Lisa Biggs Leon Hilton Joshua Schechter Noah Brooksher Stephanie Jones Thomas Serre Christopher Bull Adam Lewkowitz Elena Shih S.A. Chavarría Jinying Li Helis Sikk David Christensen Evelyn Lincoln Ritambhara Singh Fabrizio Ciccone Monica Linden Zachary Sng Mark Cladis Kristina Mendicino Patricia Sobral Fulvio Domini David Meyers Kathryn Spoehr Alison Field Deborah Mills-Scofield Shufang Sun Andrea Flores Kiana Murphy Elmo Terry-Morgan Michelle Forcier Arto Nurmikko James Tompkin Dana Gooley Don Operario Tayla von Ash Paul Greenberg David Polatty Stephen Wagner Alexander Gourevitch Kevin Quashie Margaret Weir Matthew Guterl Ivan Ramos Amy Handlan Jonathan Readey

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS FROM THE COLLEGE

Lyz Alexandre, MEd, *Program Manager*, *The College*

Gemma Brand-Wolf '22.5,

IC Co-Coordinator

Aaron Castillo '23, IC Co-Coordinator

Samuel Cobin '25, College Curriculum Council

Rachel Huynh '23, IC Co-Coordinator

David J. Meyers, PhD, MPH, Assistant Professor of Health Services, Policy and Practice, College Curriculum Council

Hyunjee Erica Nam'24, Digital Archives & Communications Coordinator,
Curricular Resource Center

Ryan Peng '25, College Curricuum Council

Brenda Rubenstein '07, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry Associate Professor, Department of Physics, College Curriculum Council

Sydney Skybetter, MFA, Deputy Dean for Curriculum and Co-Curriculum, College Curriculum Council

Lila Zimbalist '23, IC Co-Coordinator

[‡] Honors in Concentration

[^] Honors candidate